- September 20, 2021
Starting Sept. 16 businesses, schools and government agencies could be fined $5,000 if they ask for proof of a COVID-19 vaccine.
In a ruling issued last Friday, the Florida Department of Health said violators of the vaccine proof law can appeal but must pay within 30 days if the penalty is finalized.
Gov. Ron DeSantis in May signed a bill prohibiting businesses and schools from requiring proof of vaccination, citing a need to prevent "government overreach."
Infection rates in Florida have increased over the summer, as the state suffered from impacts of the Delta variant. The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services has reported more than 15,000 patients currently are hospitalized in Florida, up from about 1,800 in June.