Skip to main content
West Orange Times & Observer Wednesday, Oct. 21, 2015 3 years ago

Independence Principal Dr. Angela Murphy-Osborne wins award


Independence Elementary School Principal Dr. Angela Murphy-Osborne is among 59 outstanding elementary and middle-school principals from across the nation and abroad named 2015 National Distinguished Principals by the National Association of Elementary School Principals.

The honorees were recognized at an awards banquet Oct. 16 at the Capital Hilton Hotel in Washington, D.C., as part of a two-day program. U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan delivered the opening remarks.

Established in 1984, the two-day NDP celebration recognizes public and private school principals who make superior contributions to their schools and communities.

“Only a school principal can lead a school to success and positively impact an entire learning community,” NAESP Executive Director Gail Connelly said. “That is why I am so pleased to congratulate this year’s class of National Distinguished Principals — they richly deserve this honor and many more.”

Related Stories