Meet the candidates: Orange County School Board Chair

Four candidates are vying for the open Orange County School Board chair seat.

  • By
  • | 5:28 p.m. July 26, 2018
  • West Orange Times & Observer
  • News
  • Share

Included on the ballot for Orange County School Board chair are four candidates: Orange County Mayor Teresa Jacobs, Orange County School Board Member Nancy Robbinson, Orange County teacher Robert Prater and Orange County Public Schools administrator Matthew Fitzpatrick.

The winner will succeed outgoing OCPS School Board Chairman Bill Sublette, who was elected to the position in 2010. The four candidates will face off in the Aug. 28 primary election. If no one receives more than 50% of the vote, a runoff will be held Nov. 6. 

The West Orange Times & Observer recently conducted a Q&A with each of the four candidates. Click on their names below to read their answers and learn more about what they hope to accomplish if elected as school board chair of the state’s fourth-largest school district.


Robert Prater

Teresa Jacobs

Nancy Robbinson

Matthew Fitzpatrick



Latest News