Metro Conference recognizes softball standouts -- Observer Preps

The West Orange Warriors led all West division teams with five players recognized, as well as head coach Todd LaNeave.

  • By
  • | 12:15 p.m. May 9, 2017
  • Sports
  • Share

Orange County Public Schools' Metro Conference has announced its awards and champions for its East and West divisions for the 2017 softball season and several players and teams from the Observer Preps coverage area received recognition in the conference's West division.

In the final standings, West Orange emerged as the Metro Conference West champion, followed (in order) by Apopka, Dr. Phillips, Olympia, Wekiva, Ocoee, Edgewater, Evans and Jones.

West Orange head coach Todd LaNeave was recognized as the West division's Coach of the Year and Edgewater's Lauren Sweatt was recognized with the Academic Award.

The All-Metro Conference West team was dominated by the Warriors, who had five honorees — though the Blue Darters followed not too far behind with three players recognized.

The 2017 All-Metro Conference West team is as follows (categorized by school):

Apopka - Hannah Collins (11), Sami Crim (11), Emma Miller (11)

Dr. Phillips - Nini Underwood (12)

Ocoee - Jada Cruz (11)

Olympia - Caryssa Orland (10), Amanda Plasencia (12)

West Orange - Landry Newgent (11), Lauren Mathis (12), Maggie Wheless (12), Lexie Blair (11), Morgan Arcia (12)


Latest News