OCPS given 48 hours to create mask opt-out policy

The Florida State Board of Education issued the compliance order Oct. 12.


  • West Orange Times & Observer
  • News
  • Share

The Florida State Board of Education issued an order to Orange County Public Schools Tuesday, Oct. 12, that gave the School Board 48 hours to document compliance to a mask opt-out option for parents.

Among the findings, the Board of Education said OCPS’ masking/face-covering policy “does not comply with Florida Department of Health Emergency Rule 64DER21-15, Protocols for Controlling COVID-19 in School Settings.” That rule requires public schools to “allow for a parent or legal guardian of the student to opt the student out of wearing a face covering or mask at the parent or legal guardian’s sole discretion.”

The School Board was given 48 hours to provide documentation or face financial penalties. School Board officials had to provide “the current annual compensation provided to all school board members.” All School Board members have an annual salary of $47,189.

OCPS’ most recent mask mandate was put in place until Oct. 30.

 

author

Amy Quesinberry

Community Editor Amy Quesinberry was born at the old West Orange Memorial Hospital and raised in Winter Garden. Aside from earning her journalism degree from the University of Georgia, she hasn’t strayed too far from her hometown and her three-mile bubble. She grew up reading The Winter Garden Times and knew in the eighth grade she wanted to write for her community newspaper. She has been part of the writing and editing team since 1990.

Related Articles