Chamber presents education awards

  • By
  • | 5:18 p.m. June 5, 2014
Thompson challenges Demings, Webster for U.S. House seat
Thompson challenges Demings, Webster for U.S. House seat
  • West Orange Times & Observer
  • News
  • Share

The West Orange Chamber of Commerce held its Education Awards ceremony May 12, at West Orange High School. The awards ceremony, sponsored by Mathnasium of Winter Garden and Trophies Unlimited, recognized more than 50 S.O.A.R. (Students of Achievement and Renown) recipients from local elementary, middle and high schools.

Each student received a medallion for his or her initiative, good citizenship, commitment and personal growth in the classroom. The commemorative medallion was provided courtesy of Trophies Unlimited. Gift bag prizes and refreshments were also provided to the winners by Chick-fil-A of Ocoee and Winter Garden, Hardee’s of Ocoee, Oerther Foods, Twistee Treat, Splitsville Luxury Lanes, Garden Theatre, CareerSource Central Florida, The West Orange Times and Choose2BHealthy.

Minuteman Press of Ocoee also sponsored the printing of the ceremony programs.

“This year’s group of award recipients are truly the future of our community,” said Stina D’Uva, president and CEO of the West Orange Chamber of Commerce. “They each possess such ambition, character and an acute sense of social responsibility and are sure to be valued members of our community for many, many years.”

Parents and family members can visit the West Orange Chamber’s Facebook page to download the photo of their child from the awards ceremony.

The 2014 S.O.A.R. award winners are as follows:

Bianca Boor (Bay Meadows Elementary), Joseph Byrnes (Bridgewater Middle), April Lake (Central Florida Preparatory), Jada Singh (Citrus Elementary), Chevllia Leonard (Clarcona Elementary), Issac Maldonado (Dillard Street Elementary), Andrew Friedman (Dr. Phillips Elementary), Zoemarie Pastrana (Dr. Phillips High), Melissa Charles (Edgewood Ranch Academy), Tiffani Horsley (Florida Virtual School Full Time), Ian Jones (Florida Virtual School Full Time), Genesis Moncada (Florida Virtual School Full Time), Brooke Ramsey (Foundation Academy - North Campus), Kelsey Butcher (Foundation Academy - South Campus), Connor Carson (Foundation Academy - South Campus);

And Sienna Condello (Gotha Middle), Zvair Fitzpatrick-McFarlane (Hiawassee Elementary), Logan Zeiler (Keene’s Crossing Elementary), Jason Hylton (Lake Gem Elementary), Grant Meece (Lake Whitney Elementary), Cynthia Ruperto (Lakeview Middle), Jeffery Thompso (Maynard Evans High), Lucas Silva (MetroWest Elementary), Audrey Ankoh (Montverde Academy), Edline Mortimer (Oak Hill Elementary), Jesus Serrano-Vazquez (Ocoee Elementary), Austin Barrett (Ocoee High), Danielle Wilkerson (Ocoee Middle), Nephtalie Dor (Orlo Vista Elementary), Donnella Huey (Palm Lake Elementary), Taylover Edouard (Pine Hills Elementary), Alexander Lubin (Pinewood Elementary), Garrick Sewsankar (Robinswood Middle), Destiny Washington (Rolling Hills Elementary), Miriam Carmant (Sand Lake Elementary), Blake Inlow (Southwest Middle);

And Omar Valdez (Spring Lake Elementary), Ashley Silva (SunRidge Elementary), Alvin Appiahene (SunRidge Middle), Autumn Lockhart (Sunset Park Elementary), Andrew Severe (Thornebrooke Elementary), Danielle Grau (Tildenville Elementary), Jhonny Mujica-Ferreira (West Orange High), Dylan Leferink (Westbrooke Elementary), Kayla Howard (Westside Tech), Nicole Dahl (Whispering Oak Elementary), Elliot Bell (William Frangus Elementary), Eric Valdez (William S. Maxey Elementary), Wade Martin (Windermere Elementary), Ahmed Jafri (Windy Ridge K-8) and Landon Schaefer (Windy Ridge K-8).


Latest News