Winter Garden Little League wins Tournament of Champions thriller over Ocoee

Winter Garden topped Ocoee 9-8 in extra innings for an exciting conclusion to the District 14 9-Year-Old All-Stars tournament.

  • By
  • | 5:27 p.m. June 22, 2016
Photo courtesy of Eric Steiner
Photo courtesy of Eric Steiner
  • Sports
  • Share

The Tournament of Champions teams for Winter Garden Little League and Ocoee Little League met twice in a matter of six days — in pool play and in the District 14 Championship — and each game was decided by just one run.

And, although it had been Ocoee Little League’s 9-year-olds that emerged victorious with a 9-8 win when the teams met in pool play June 11, it was the team from Winter Garden that survived the extra-inning affair June 16.

Winter Garden Little League’s 9-Year-Old All-Stars topped Ocoee 9-8 in seven innings to secure the championship in a game of which both teams should be proud.

“They were intense games,” Winter Garden head coach David Ocasio said, reflecting on the two meetings between the teams. “(Ocoee is) a very good team. I just think our team, you could see it in their eyes in the top of that seventh inning … they knew that we were going to win that game.”

Both teams finished the annual tournament with 5-1 records.

Teams that did not advance beyond pool play included Dr. Phillips (3-2), Windermere — American (2-3), Windermere — National (1-4) and South Lake (0-5). The tournament was hosted at South Lake Little League.

Ocasio praised both his players and his assistant coaches — Bob Cortese and Ron Garrison — for earning the hard-fought tournament championship.

“Words can’t describe how proud I am,” Ocasio said.

Winter Garden Little League’s Tournament of Champions team included Wrigley Bates, Kas Ocasio, Jason Cortese, Sims McClusky, Josh Lore, Erick Martinez, Keston Gomez, Rylee Gibson, Leo Syljebeck, Luke Garrison, Jake Threadgill, Andrew Rich and Akito Dixon.

The runner-up Ocoee Little League Tournament of Champions team included Julissa Frias, Angel Martinez, Braylan Butler, Devon Braunskill, Jamie Cawley, Ahmand Davis, Bryson Gray, Elijah Jimenez, Michael Palmer, Gunnar Patterson, Aiden Schwartz and Jase Whitney. Ocoee was coached by Paul Schwartz, Shawn Butler and Chris Pedrinan.

District 14 All-Stars continue this week with the tournaments for Minors (9- and 10-year olds) and 11-year-olds.


Contact Steven Ryzewski at [email protected].


Latest News