OCPS celebrates 45 schools designated as Schools of Excellence

Ten schools were added to the list for the 2022-23 school year.

pololia - stock.adobe.com
  • Observer School Zone
  • Share

The State Board of Education approved the list of Schools of Excellence for the 2022-23 school year, and 45 schools in Orange County Public Schools earned the designation. This includes 10 schools added to the list based on their 2022-23 informational baseline grades.

To become a School of Excellence a school must score in the 80th percentile or higher of possible points earned in its school grade within the same grade groupings (elementary, middle, high and combination) for at least two of the last three school years.

The 35 schools that were designated as a School of Excellence for the 2021-22 school year retained their status for the 2022-23 school year.

This year’s OCPS Schools of Excellence are:

• Elementary schools: Avalon, Baldwin Park, Bay Lake, Brookshire, Clumbia, Deerwood, Dommerich, Dr. Phillips, Eagle Creek, Hilcrest, Hunters Creek, Independence, Keenes Crossing, Lake Whitney, Laureate Park, Moss Park, Northlake Park Community, Palm Lake, Stone Lakes, Sun Blaze, Thornebrooke, Timber Lakes, Tildenville, West Creek, Westbrooke, Wetherbee, Whispering Oak, Windermere and Wolf Lake;

• Middle schools: Avalon, Bridgewater, Discovery, Howard, Hunters Creek, Innovation, Lake Nona, SunRidge and Timber Springs;

• High school: Timber Creek.

• Others: Arbor Ridge K-8, Audubon Park School, Blankner K-8, Orlando Gifted Academy, Wedgefield School and Windy Ridge K-8.

The Schools of Excellence program was established in 2017 by the Florida Legislature to recognize the state’s highest-performing schools.


Latest News